History of Home Builders Association of Greater Savannah

In June, 1955 Judge David Atkinson of the Superior Court of Chatham County signed the order which created the Home Builders Association of Savannah. The Association started with 27 Charter members and today stands strong with more than 485 members. Since its inception, the Association has had 67 Presidents including our current President, Mr. Josh Waters.

The Association has grown tremendously during the past 69 years. We now have more than 15 committees and councils. We have a Government and Regulatory Affairs Committee in addition to an Engineers and Developers Council who works directly with City and County officials to help shape the way developing will take place in the future.

In recent years the HBA has had many exciting developments. In 1998 we developed our Effingham Chapter and a few years later we developed our Bryan County Chapter. It was at that point that we legally changed the name of the Association to the Home Builders Association of Greater Savannah. In July of 2000 we moved into our brand new 4000 SF Office Building which houses our staff. The debt free building was built and paid for by the dedicated Members of our Association.


HBA of Greater Savannah Mission Statement

The Home Builders Association of Greater Savannah (HBA) is a non-profit professional trade association that promotes home ownership and represents the concerns of the building industry of Chatham, Effingham, Bryan & Liberty counties. 

The Association is dedicated to promoting the building industry through professionalism, community involvement, governmental affairs and member education. 


"I have built so many friendships that have led to much business from the HBA. The generosity that this association gave to me and my family when we needed it means so much!

I feel like the relationships that you build in this organization are what you put into it. The old saying you reap what you sow is true.Build the trust and friendships and the business will come!

I can’t imagine how or where my business would be without the family and friends I have grown to love here. The Home Builders Association of Savannah is just awesome! So glad to be a part of it!"

                                                                                                                                         Tracey Burdette, Renasant Bank


Past Presidents

2023 John Mowry   2000 William D. Fawcett   1977 Charles M. Kilpatrick
2022 Jeff Kramer   1999 Alan K. Emerick   1976 James H. Snooks
2021 Matt Byrd   1998 C. A. Griffin   1975 Fred Williams, Jr. 
2020 Robert Flanders   1997 Andrew J. Davis   1974 Charles L. Burnsed
2019 Matthew Johns   1996 Rande Duke   1973 M. O. Lee
2018 Fred Bricketto   1995 Jack Robertson   1972 Herbert R. Black
2017 Candler Wilson   1994 Steve Hall   1971 Inman O. Sanders
2016 Candler Wilson   1993 Dale M. Johnson   1970 W. James Smith
2015 Kevin Kirsch   1992 Randall L. Davis   1969 Alvin L. Davis
2014 Mark Bouy   1991 Jerry Konter   1968 Thomas J. Beytagh
2013 Mark Bouy   1990 Linn C. Burnsed   1967 Bruce Remler
2012 Mark Konter   1989 Michael F. Ryan   1966 Henry B. Waters
2011 Read Brennan   1988 Elliott B. Simmons   1965 Leroy Moore
2010 Jerry C. Wardlaw   1987 Roy Moore   1964 Troy A. Bouy
2009 Jim Walker   1986 Stephen R. Thaggard, Jr.   1963 W. L. Merriman, Jr.
2008 Matthew Young   1985 Stephen R. Thaggard, Jr.   1962 John W. Ahern
2007 Elizabeth Williams - Holley   1984 William Lattimore, Jr.   1961 James M. Sullivan
2006 Corde Wilson   1983 James T. Turner, Jr.   1960 Marshall Sturgess
2005 Jack Wardlaw   1982 Thomas J. Beytagh, Jr.   1959 Hugh Armstrong
2004 Stephen Remler   1981 James C. Wilson, Jr.   1958 Willard J. Teston
2003 Lamar Smith   1980 E. Craig Meyer   1957 Cecil H. Mason
2002 Fred T.Buck   1979 Preston Gilmore   1956 Cecil H. Mason
2001 Hector Lopez   1978 Murray S. Marshall   1955 Clayton Powell

Past Associate Vice Presidents

2023 Rodney Rawls   2005 Paula Mobley
2022 Carol Stone   2004 Andrea Powell
2021 Rodney Rawls   2003 Jeff Morton
2020 Carol Stone   2002 Marty Daniel
2019 Mandy Grubbs   2001 Beth Darieng
2018 Kyle Whitty   2000 Bruce Peyton
2017 Terri Sherman   1999 Mark Neville
2016 Tracey Burdette   1998 Karen Martin
2015 Janet Atwood Melton   1997 Deirdre Dowis
2013 Byron Loomis - Served 15 months   1996 Pat Evans
2012 Tracey Burdette   1995 Cindy Roberts
2011 Byron Loomis   1994 John Donnelly
2010 Byron Loomis   1993 Linda Lee
2009 John Bremer   1992 John Bremer
2008 Ted Jones   1991 Ann Carroll
2007 Ted Jones   1990 Woody Woodward
2006 Terri Sherman      

Past Hall of Fame Recipients

2023 Patty Rietkovich   2004 Mr. Tom Beytagh
2023 Mark Bouy   2004 Mr. Billy Herrin
2019 Mr. Fred T. Buck   2004 Mr. Jerry Konter
2015 Mr. Lamar Smith   2003 Mr. Stephen Thaggard
2012 Mrs. Beth Williams - Holley   2003 Mr. Bill Efird
2011 Mrs. Paula Mobley   2002 Mr. James C. Wilson, Jr. 
2010 Mr. Harry Haslam   2001 Mr. Alvin L. Davis
2009 Mr. Walter Corish   2001 Mr. Bruce Remelr
2008 Mr. Edwin J. Feiler   2001 Mr. E. Craig Meyer
2007 Mr. Jack Wardlaw   2001 Mr. Preston Gilmore
2007 Mr. Jerry C. Wardlaw   2000 Mr. Michael F. Ryan
2007 Mr. Murray Marshall   1999 Mr. Troy Bouy
2007 Mr. Steven H. Hall   1999 Mr. Bill Shearouse
2007 Ms. Ann G. Carroll   1999 Mr. Dale Johnson
2005 Mr. Fred Williams, Jr.   1998 Mr. Frank Cullum
2005 Mr. Louis C. Young, Jr.   1998 Mr. Clayton Powell
2005 Mr. Woodrow Dykes   1998 Mr. Leroy Moore